The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Creating your own beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2012, 06:11 PM   #1
boomtown25
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Creating your own beer

This may be a stupid question, but I don't know the answer so I will ask. I have long dreamed of coming up with the perfect recipe of my own beer and it be good enough to market one day. I have very little experience with my own recipes, but the thought has occurred to me, "how do I know that I do not come up with the EXACT recipe of some other beer out there, and think I just created the perfect beer?" I realize this would be highly unlikely, but with limited types of hops and grains, there is still that slight chance.

PRIMARY 4: EMPTY
BOTTLED: Caribou Slobber 6/9/11 (Gone)
BOTTLED: Bavarian Hefweizen 6/15/11 (Gone)
BOTTLED: Warrior IPA 6/23/11 (Gone)
BOTTLED: Dunkelweizen PM 6/30/11
BOTTLED: Amarillo IPA 7/26/11
ON DECK: APA or Centennial Blonde

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2012, 07:41 PM   #2
Bmorebrew
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 5

It's really not that unlikely - most great beers are not highly complex in terms of ingredients - two, three, maybe four types of malt, one or two types of hops, and a yeast. Of all the commercial breweries and homebrewers out there, I'm sure many recipes have been serendipitously copied without intent. There's only so many ways to make a brown ale for example.

Old 01-26-2012, 07:59 PM   #3
GASoline71
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 40

I am recently experimenting with my own "partial mash" recipies. I found a few websites that have calculators that help you fill in the blanks to get your OG, FG, IBU's, SRM, etc... I did the HBT Google Search and found out 3 or 4 different links.

Gary

"Brewed Fresh from the North End of Puget Sound"