Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Crap is crazy bitter...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2013, 10:11 PM   #1
tackett
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default Crap is crazy bitter...

Well.

I bottled my belgian white. (Midwest kit)

It is crazy bitter. Like lingering aftertaste bitter.

I'm thinking its just green, but just wanted a expert opinion since I'm a newbie and I don't know what a green beer tastes like.

So lets explain incase anyone missed the original brew thread.

Kit is a Midwest kit.
Yeast is a dry yeast. Was hydrated before pitching.
Pitched at 75ish degrees.
Had some temp issues at first. Fermentation stalled d/t low temps 59-61 deg.
Submerged bucket and used an aquarium heater and fermented for 21 days at 75 deg.
Dry hopped with citra hops.
Bottled 2 days ago with 4.5 oz corn sugar.
Og was 1.044
FG was 1.010 steady for 3 days

So. The beer is very very young. This was more of an experiment than looking for a representation of the finished product.

Also, the thing is crazy carbed already. (See pic) am I going to have some bombs?

It also darker than its supposed to be, but I assume that's from the full boil instead of adding the extract late.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 10:30 PM   #2
davekippen
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 160 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 417

Anything dry hoppped with Citra will be very hoppy. Are you sure its bitter and not just hoppy?

Plus, I am surprised a Belgian White would have any dry hopping. Doesnt seem normal to me. Its usually the yeast that brings out the flavor of a belgian not the hops. Strange kit.

Hit me on Untappd https://untappd.com/user/davekippen

Old 02-02-2013, 10:35 PM   #3
tackett
Recipes 

Wasn't in the kit.