Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > A couple of questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2009, 05:38 AM   #1
truckinusa
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default A couple of questions

1. What is this: Wichita Falls Texas Home Brew Supply - Beer Brewing Equipment and Ingredients

2. I'm a total newb. What do I need to make some beer? I was told spend $100 on this from my local hombrew company. http://homebrewhq.com/ProductDetails...productID=1064

Is it missing anything? Do I get anything that is cheap, going to break or won't be usable when I advance in the hobby? I hate finding out later I should of done this or that.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2009, 02:32 PM   #2
BlindLemonLars
Conqueroo Brew
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Your first link is a tri-level "sculpture," for all-grain brewing. It's stacked like that to allow the use of gravity for transfering water and wort.

Of course you'll need a large pot to boil your wort in, empty bottles, cleaning supplies (Oxiclean!) and some sort of sanitizer. What you DON'T need with that kit is the carboy brush, in fact it will damage the Better Bottle and should not be used with it.

This is a pretty basic kit, most of us end up with a WHOLE LOT more equipment!

Old 08-20-2009, 02:45 PM   #3
slomo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 2

+1^^ the kit doesn't include a hydrometer, or a basic thermometer I would visit some other sites like austin home brew or midwest brewing.

Primary: guinness clone, IIPA
Secondary:
Bottled: RIS
The beatings will continue until morale improves!

Old 08-20-2009, 02:45 PM   #4
bhatchable
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts