Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Cooling fermenters

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2012, 04:28 AM   #1
optaka
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3

Default Cooling fermenters

Hey everybody, I was wondering what would be a good way to keep my fermenters cool. I don't really want to have to try to keep my apartment at 65 degrees all summer, so what would be a more effective way to keep my fermentation buckets cool? Needs to be relatively cheap and small since I am a college student living in an apartment.

I have seen a few plans for making boxes out of Styrofoam and just putting in frozen water bottles to cool. Has anybody tried this and how well does it work. Any other suggestions?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2012, 04:39 AM   #2
Fid
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts

The insulated box you're referring to is widely know as 'Son of Fermentation Chiller'. Here's a link to a PDF file for the build if you're interested.

Here's some HBT reviews of the build.

Swamp Coolers are another option. Here's a good thread on them.

Old 05-08-2012, 04:58 AM   #3
optaka
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fid View Post
The insulated box you're referring to is widely know as 'Son of Fermentation Chiller'. Here's a link to a PDF file for the build if you're interested.

Here's some HBT reviews of the build.

Swamp Coolers are another option. Here's a good thread on them.
I was actually looking at something like this http://www.bayareamashers.org/gadget...%20chiller.pdf which is a simpler version of the Son of Fermentation Chiller, but the swamp chiller might be even easier/cheaper. Only problem with it is that it can't warm things up in the winter.

Old 05-08-2012, 08:21 AM   #4
Brew_Dog
Recipes