The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Consistently Contaminated Beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2010, 03:20 PM   #1
melortz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Consistently Contaminated Beer

Hi all:

Was wondering if anyone could lend some advice....I have been brewing successfully for a few years and recently moved to a new house where the water is very hard and has a pH of 7.8. Every beer I have brewed here in the new house becomes contaminated after primary fermentation. I use distilled water for my extract kits and everything is fine until I move to secondary fermentation and then there is a strange taste or smell-from a mild off taste to something that tastes like feet or cheese I have replaced my tubing and use Star San for sanitation.

Has anyone experienced anything like this or have any advice? Thanks

mark

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 03:23 PM   #2
TipsyDragon
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts

what are you using for your secondary? assuming it is an infection replace all plastic parts. you may have a scratch somewhere that the infection is hiding in.

Old 07-19-2010, 03:34 PM   #3
melortz
Recipes 

Hi:

I am using a plastic buckets for primary and glass carboys for secondary. The issues is that it happens with every bucket (I have 3 different buckets). Thanks

Old 07-19-2010, 03:51 PM   #4
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 899 Times on 600 Posts
Likes Given: 26

I'd start by replacing all the buckets. "Feet" could be a strain of Brettanomyces or Pediococus.

Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?

Old 07-19-2010, 04:00 PM   #5
melortz
Recipes