Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Confused by yeast - rehydrate or not?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2009, 07:02 AM   #1
K-Dub
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Confused by yeast - rehydrate or not?

Hi all,

In doing my research it seems that most (including John Palmer) instruct to rehydrate the yeast, pour it into the fermenter and aerate and stir or shake. However, my kit instructions (which I know I should ignore) say to sprinkle the yeast packet on top, leave it and not to stir. I definitely want to stop using kits eventually but I'm taking baby steps and trying to learn as much as possible. Why the difference and which is the better method? Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2009, 07:27 AM   #2
NickBoz
Recipes 

i am a beginner as well, i am only on my third batch and i slop it in, i splash around and sprinkle and my beers so far have came out good, but i may be wrong, also i always thought air was good for yeast.

"Give a man a beer, he'll drink for the day.Teach a man to brew, he'll be drunk the rest of his life."

"The government will fall that raises the price of beer."

Old 06-19-2009, 09:54 AM   #3
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2728 Times on 1636 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

What people don't seem to realize is that sprinkling it on the surface of the wort and not stirring it for 15-30 minutes, is rehydrating, just on top of the wort as opposed to water. In fact on the fermentis website (safale/saflager yeasts) that is one of the iirc, 3 "recommended" options to do it...You stir (or I just rock the fermenter a bit-usually just carrying it from the kitchen to my brew closet) after the yeast has abosorbed the liquid....(reydrated)

all methods work, it really comes down to a matter of what works for you.