Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Complete Beginners Question (Coopers IPA Kit)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2011, 05:31 PM   #1
pdxbrewnoob
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Complete Beginners Question (Coopers IPA Kit)

Hoping someone on this forum can help out a complete beginner with what is possibly a very stupid question. I went to a local homebrewing supply shop to pick up ingredients for my first attempt at a home brew, and am now more confused then ever. I have a decent understanding of the process...but this kit has left me with some questions.

The kit (Coopers IPA) came with 3.3 pounds of liquid extract, and a packet of yeast (that looks to be expired), and some instructions that might as well have been written in Spanish (no cooking times, sugar is recommended?). This leads me to a few questions:

1. Shouldn't there be more? I assumed the beer would need hops, or some other kind of fermentables, not just some syrup out of a can.

2. The man at the store said that I needed two "kit cans" to make a 5 gallon batch, even though the kit says one can will make the batch. Who is right?

3. How long do I cook the wort for?

At this point, I'm a little weary of the whole thing. I'm a pretty prolific chef, and pouring extract from a can to get to beer seems a little like an easy way out. Any advice on this would be much appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2011, 05:44 PM   #2
FensterBos
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 5

1) Depending the kits, some have everything included in the can (pre-hopped extract); Coopers is usually one of these kits. If they only gave you the can and yeast then that is probably all you need. I would recommend buying new yeast though; an extra $2 for nottingham yeast is worth it in my opinion.