Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Complete beginner seeking a mentor

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2013, 09:49 PM   #31
ncbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 47

Thanks for the input Homercidal.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2013, 11:31 AM   #32
jasebrooker
Recipes 

Hi everyone.

So it's nearly time for me to bottle my first ever batch! I managed to get some bottles for free from a local pub (saved a bit of cash there!) and I have my bottling bucket all set up, I've also ordered some starsan so I can make sure everything is sanitised properly. So now I'm good to go I have one last question before i bottle, that is;
According to the destructions I need to put half a teaspoon of sugar in each bottle. Now, I'm going to just mix all the sugar up in some water, put it in the bottling bucket then rack my beer into it. My question is how do I know exactly how much sugar to mix up? My bucket has measurements on but they're not great. (So far on about 3.75 gallons) but there are no increments between the gallon marks. I don't want beer bombs but I don't want to mix to little. What would you all suggest?

Old 02-11-2013, 12:21 PM   #33
aiptasia
Recipes 

Liked 531 Times on 469 Posts
Likes Given: 162

There are some great online priming sugar calculators out there. Here's one: http://www.tastybrew.com/calculators/priming.html