Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Complete beginner seeking a mentor

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2013, 01:39 PM   #21
Homercidal
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 2350 Times on 1668 Posts
Likes Given: 1318

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasebrooker View Post
Oh ok that's good to know, so how will I know when fermentation is complete? I can't see any bubbles because the foam is obscuring the surface. I have a hydrometer but I can't work out how to use it and if I drop that in then it will disturb the surface foam as well
Forget the bubbles. The krausen (the foam) is an indicator that bubbling in the wort has taken place. As the yeast slow down, the krausen will drop (usually). If after 1-2 weeks the krausen has not fallen, then you need to take a sample from UNDER the krausen.

Get a turkey baster or wine thief or some such item. Sanitize it. Stick it in the beer (UNDER the krausen) and draw up a sample. Pour sample in the tube that came with your hydrometer. (I usually carefully place the hydrometer in the tube beforehand, YMMV)

Make sure you are reading the BOTTOM of the meniscus as shown here:

NOTE that image is not showing specific gravity. You will look for the 1.020, 1.030, 1.040, etc lines and write down that number. The caption under that image is for winemaking, hence the Brix.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2013, 03:21 PM   #22
Icenine61
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Surprised I didn't see it mentioned.

The best resource I've ever had is my local homebrew club. I went before I got close to my first batch and was amazed at how much knowledge was available. And I saved boat loads of money with cheap/free dusty equipment that the club members had graduated up from.