Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Weekend to Enter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Combining Citrusy and Piney Hops?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2010, 07:32 AM   #1
Ouroboros
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Combining Citrusy and Piney Hops?

I have been toying with the idea of brewing another IPA at some point, but with a bit more sweetness and maltiness to round it out and a deep red color.

I've looked at recipes here, and some of them feature a single hop while others mix and match. I've also looked at descriptions of hops themselves and come away seeing several general descriptions of hops (earthy, spicy, piney, citrusy). If you mix these "classes" of hops, do the flavors tend to clash with one another, or complement? I want to mix the citrus and the pine... it sounds good at the moment. Seeing how I have very little experience with brewing, I'm not sure if this is wise.

I was thinking equal proportions of citra, centennial, simcoe, and chinook. Any ideas?

Pondering: Roggenwein, Irish Red, Another Single-Hop IPA, Roggenbier w/ local wild yeast
Primary: Hefeweizen, Nugget Single-Hop IPA, Chamomile Wheat
Secondary: Saffron Metheglin
Bottled: Belgian Strong Dark, Saffron Wheat, UK Barleywine, Tripel, IIPA

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2010, 12:39 PM   #2
smakudwn
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 51 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 8

I believe NB Ranger has Simcoe, chinook and Cascade. that would be combining pinny and citrus.

Old 04-30-2010, 12:42 PM   #3
Beernik
Recipes 

Liked 312 Times on 262 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Citrus and Pine, that's what Pliny the Elder is.

This must be how Sarah Silverman's father felt.

Old 04-30-2010, 12:56 PM   #4
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4663 Times on 3387 Posts
Likes Given: 919