Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Cold crashing not clearing up beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2012, 08:31 PM   #1
goodsuds
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default Cold crashing not clearing up beer

I'm trying to cold crash my most recent batch of beer and it doesn't seem to be clearing up. I've had it in the fridge at about 34*F for 3 days. It fermented for about 6 days at 66*F and I let it sit for another 9 days before I put it in the fridge. I can see a lot of the hop trub has fallen and there is only a little bit floating on top of it, but the beer itself actually looks more cloudy than before. My original plan was to take it out tomorrow evening to bottle so I could brew a new batch on Saturday.

Is 3-4 days not enough time to give it? It's my first time cold crashing so I'm not sure what to expect.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2012, 08:39 PM   #2
TheZymurgist
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 211 Times on 160 Posts
Likes Given: 506

Sounds like chill haze to me. What's your method of cooling after the boil?

Old 09-13-2012, 08:47 PM   #3
goodsuds
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheZymurgist View Post
Sounds like chill haze to me. What's your method of cooling after the boil?
I put my aluminum kettle in a sink full of ice and add cold water. I can get it chilled to pitching temp in less than 15 minutes, at least on partial volume extract boils like this one.

I also used whirlfloc in the boil, added at the last 5 minutes. I know you don't really need it with extract brews, but I was just trying it to see if it would help, or if it had any negative effects. Figured I'd rather try it on yellow fizz water than a good IPA!

Old 09-13-2012, 08:53 PM   #4
Matt3989
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 3