New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Cider tasting beer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2012, 08:57 PM   #1
TurboJ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Cider tasting beer

Hello, I am new at the whole brewing thing and need some help. I use coopers lager LME and 2 lbs of brown sugar. I think I messed up by only filling my bucket to the 5 gal mark instead of the 6 gal mark which the recipe called for. The beer turned out cidery. Too much sugar, not enough water? Can this be fixed or should I just drink it it's not bad but not good either.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2012, 09:43 PM   #2
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 429 Times on 402 Posts
Likes Given: 199

Too much sugar and possibly not enough water, hard to tell without the actual recipe and no, it probably will not get better

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the "art" of beer since 2010

Old 09-11-2012, 09:44 PM   #3
DocScott
Recipes 

Liked 98 Times on 78 Posts

It depends... How long has it been since you brewed / bottled? Young, immature beer will have a green apple taste which will improve with age. If it has been a while (>3weeks in bottles), it could be permanent. The 2 lbs of brown sugar may be the culprit depending on the amount of other fermentables you used. The cidery flavor may also be esters that were produced if you fermented at too high a temperature. If you give us more information about your recipe and fermentation schedule, it could help narrow down the cause. Also, use the search function to look up "off flavors in beer" to learn more about potential causes and solutions to off flavors.

Old 09-11-2012, 09:58 PM   #4
TurboJ
Recipes