New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Chlorine for sanitation: any input on this?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2011, 06:58 PM   #21
Scooby_Brew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 21

I have been brewing for about 11 years now and for the first 8-9 years I used bleach for sanitizing with fantastic resolutes. I used to add a cup of bleach to a 5 gal of water for sanitizing and I had a bucket of clean water for rinsing right next to it. I never had an infection in my beer, not even once.
The only drawback was all the bleach-stained jeans and t-shirts

I use StarSan now and I like the no-rinse part, but I'm not so convinced about it's sanitizing power, since I see a ton of posts on this forum from young brewers crying their eyes out about an infected beer. They all seem to use one of the "no-rinse" sanitizers.

One of the reasons I used bleach for so many years is that I remember watching the Discovery Channel years ago and they had a program about doctors and nurses fighting the Ebola disease and other killer diseases in Africa. Guess what those doctors used for disinfecting their Hazmat suites when exiting a hospital full of Ebola infected patients? You guessed it, they used bleach water to save them from the most infectious Ebola disease on Earth. Just some food for thought.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2011, 07:04 PM   #22
Misplaced_Canuck
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 120 Times on 96 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby_Brew View Post
The only drawback was all the bleach-stained jeans and t-shirts

Guess what those doctors used for disinfecting their Hazmat suites when exiting a hospital with Ebola infected patients? You guessed it, they used bleach water to save them from the most infectious Ebola disease on Earth. Just some food for thought.