The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Cheapest beer you can make?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2008, 04:42 PM   #1
Baja_Brewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Cheapest beer you can make?

I know it isnt always about the money, but Im new to brewing and Ive already spent a good bit making several batches. I realize that with the price of malt, nothings going to be to cheap as long as I keep brewing extract... Im just not sure I know enough to move to all grain.

My question is this, what is the cheapest brew that you know how to make (cost per bottle or otherwise) that has a decent flavor and abv? links to recipes would be greatly appreciated!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2008, 04:45 PM   #2
BigKahuna
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 6

I'd say that you could do BierMunchers Cream of 3 crops....convert it to extract. It's pretty cheap. You can add that Alcohol boost from AHS for like $2. and save some on the malt. You're pushing BMC here, but it'll be cheap.

and If you wait till you think you know enough to go all grain, you'll NEVER do it. Just build a Mash Tun, Get a Turkey Fryer, and go for it.

Old 07-24-2008, 04:48 PM   #3
McGarnigle
Recipes 

Liked 34 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Check out Northern Brewer's kits. I think some of the basic ones are around $20, such as the Scottish/60. Not big alcohol and low hops saves money, I haven't used it, but this is a good company. Use dry yeast to save $$. And I don't think buying ingredients individually saves money vs. kits.

Old 07-24-2008, 04:49 PM   #4
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc

Recipes 

Liked 2708 Times on 1627 Posts
Likes Given: 3483