Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Changing temperature half-way through?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2013, 08:03 AM   #1
CheftonUTD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Changing temperature half-way through?

I'm new to brewing and looking for advice about temperature control. After bottling my first batch I went out and got a fridge and a second fermentor (the obsesion begins... ).
What I'm doing at the moment is planning to have one brew in the fridge (at about 20c / 68f) and the other in a makeshift swamp cooler (at about 28c / 82f ).
I started thinking today though, since everyone says that temperature is most critical during the first week(ish) of fermentation, would I be better off next time starting one earlier, leaving it in the fridge for a week or so then take it out and put the new one in it's place?

Any thoughts or ideas?
Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2013, 08:56 AM   #2
Varmintman
Recipes 

Liked 653 Times on 409 Posts
Likes Given: 820

I would say it depends on the yeast and what profile you want in the beer. The 82F seems awful warm though but I tend to ferment at the lower ends of the yeasts temp range

Old 01-29-2013, 12:29 PM   #3
Sween
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I sometimes end up second guessing myself... going from about 70 down to 60 or even 65. I move my carboys and buckets around the house depending on how and when they're fermenting.

But yeah, 82 sounds really high unless you're dealing with a belgian strong and want all those fruity flavors...

Old 01-29-2013, 12:48 PM   #4
mvcorliss
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 12