HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Carbonating Aged Brew

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2011, 10:41 PM   #1
AbbeyNormal
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Carbonating Aged Brew

Hey All...

I have a Scottish Wee Heavy that I've been aging for about 9 months now and I want to go to bottles with it. Will there be enough yeast left to carbonate with corn sugar?

Thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-26-2011, 11:38 PM   #2
S0meB0dy
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Add a pack of yeast at bottling time to make sure your beer carbonates. It may carbonate without it but it could take a while since most of your yeast are out of suspension. You don't want to be disappointed later when you go to open your first brew and find it flat.

Fermenting: APA
Up Next: Nutbrown

Old 09-26-2011, 11:59 PM   #3
Elweydoloco
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Just a thought if you don't want to add more yeast as I've never aged anything that long.

http://www.google.com/products?q=Muntons+Carbonation+tabs&hl=en

Primary
AHS London Porter
Secondary
Bottled
AHS Blue Moon Clone, Double Choco Stout, Porter, Hard Apple Cider, Apocalypso

Old 09-27-2011, 12:02 AM   #4
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc

Recipes 

Liked 2657 Times on 1602 Posts
Likes Given: 3444

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elweydoloco View Post
Just a thought if you don't want to add more yeast as I've never aged anything that long.

http://www.google.com/products?q=Muntons+Carbonation+tabs&hl=en
Using muntons won't change whether or not the OP needs to add more yeast or not. All the carb tabs are is a different kind of sugar....sugar is not an issue, adding fresh yeast is.

It's not a bad idea when aging big beers to add a packet of yeast at bottling time.

Otherwise they still will more than likely carb, but it could take 6 months without fresh yeast, if it's a high grav beer.