Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Can't wait!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2011, 06:49 AM   #1
Kodatech
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Can't wait!

Hello everyone. I'm brand new to brewing, and to this group, but I have some scottish ale in the fermenter in the closet.

It is my first brew, and the fermentation seemed very vigorous and rapid. It started after about 5 hours, and all through the night and the next day bubbles were rolling out of the airlock.

The best part is, the closet the brew is in smelled GREAT! Fermentation seems to have stopped after just 2 days, so I gave the fermenter a good shake, and I am going to let it sit some more.

I am new, so I am going to keep it simple, for this batch I am not going to use a secondary. I am going to check my SG after a week in the bucket, if it looks good, I am going to bottle it and age it for a few weeks. Ill Keep you posted!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 07:07 AM   #2
Qhrumphf
Stay Rude, Stay SHARP
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1698 Times on 1210 Posts
Likes Given: 696

I'd recommend leaving it in the bucket a little longer than that, two weeks minimum, three weeks better. I usually leave most of mine in primary 4 weeks.

That said, congrats on the first brew, and it'll probably be the best beer you've ever had (namely because you made it).

Cheers and welcome to the forum (and the obsessionimeanhobby)

Up Next: Bluebird Bitter Clone v3.0, Scottish 60/-, Rye American Pale Ale
Primary: Robust Porter, Kitchen Sink Brown Porter, Bluebird Bitter Clone v2.0
Souring: Lamebic, Flanders Red, Brett. C. Old Ale, Sour Stout, Brett C. Wild Bitter, Wild Cider
Polypins: Dark Mild
Bottled: English Cider, Belgian IPA, Spiced Winter Warmer, Malt Liquor