Last week to Enter the Spike Brewing 20 Gallon Sight Glass Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Can i add zest to primary

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2013, 02:21 PM   #1
dirtybasementbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 187 Times on 119 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default Can i add zest to primary

Hi everyone I'm fairly new at the home brew thing. Is it ok for me to to add zest of fruit to my primary? I don't want to make a fruit beer but a subtle hint of lime or lemon would be nice. Oh by the way I'm making a basic ale, if that makes a difference

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 03:00 PM   #2
dg35884
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I would think that primary fermentation might be to rough if you are looking for a little aroma too. I would say if you were looking for flavor maybe add it to the boil at the end or add it to secondary for more aroma. I'm pretty new too but I believe that's the best way to go about it.

Old 02-07-2013, 03:48 PM   #3
m_c_zero
Recipes 

Liked 139 Times on 103 Posts
Likes Given: 207

I added orange zest to a beer in the past and I ended up boiling the orange peel in a bit of water then strained it and dumped the zested water into the primary. I would think putting zest into the primary and leaving it in there would be a bit overpowering.

Old 02-07-2013, 04:28 PM   #4
dirtybasementbrew
Recipes 

Thanks, I'm really struggling with flavoring. I just bottled a chili ale and I put way too much jalapeño for way too long! Tastes like liquid fire

Old 02-07-2013, 04:31 PM   #5
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 503 Times on 465 Posts
Likes Given: 226

I have had the best results with zest being added to the secondary vessel after fermentation has completed. I would recommend at least 2 lemons to start and soak the zest in a bit of Vodka before adding to sanitize them.