Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Campden tablets

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2011, 03:15 PM   #1
PIGMAN
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default Campden tablets

After reading all the posts regarding chloramine and chlorine possibly ruining beer, I went to my LHBS to purchase campden tablets. I was advised by the owner that I could be creating a worse problem by using the tablets because although the chloramine and chlorine would be neutralized, there could very well be an excess amount of sulfites remaining in the wort, which could have a negative impact on the yeast. I wound up using RO water with the minerals added back,(Nestle). I have no scientific background to agree or disagree with the gentleman, but I'm sure there are posters on this forum that do. I'd be interested to hear their input.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2011, 03:37 PM   #2
commonsenseman
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 10

I've used a campden tablet for my last few batches of beer, I use city water for all my brews. No issues thus far, the yeast have been doing just fine. No off flavors either.

"EC-1118 is a monster yeast. But it is also clean and quick. Like a humane serial killer."

1 Gal: Brandon O's-Graff
2 Gal: Big Ol' Barleywine
5 Gal: Graham's English Cider
5 Gal: Apfelwein

Old 06-27-2011, 03:39 PM   #3
bonzombiekitty
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by commonsenseman View Post
I've used a campden tablet for my last few batches of beer, I use city water for all my brews. No issues thus far, the yeast have been doing just fine. No off flavors either.
Ditto.

Old 06-27-2011, 03:51 PM   #4
stevo155
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3