Calculating Efficiency??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

natelindner

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm brand new to brewing and I have a quick question regarding mashing. I have a recipe for an American Amber Ale. I am actually only doing a one gallon batch to begin with just to see if I like it (do not judge, I also don't have a big mash tun yet) so my first question is: if I am going to be boiling for an hour afterwards how much wort should I have before boiling? 2 gallons? Based on the volume of the wort I am able to mess around with my grain amounts to calculate predicted OG. However, that predicted OG also depends on "efficiency". How can I tell what my efficiency is going to be? I don't want to put a bunch of grain in assuming I'm going to get 70% efficiency then end up getting 90% and ending up with an OG of like 1.1! Please help!

I do not know if you can tell what your efficiency is going to be. I just did my first all grain and just assumed 70% which i came close to. I think you are going to get alot of their are too many variables. How vigorous a boil, the grind of your grain, etc.

What i have done with extract/all grain recipes i have used from this site is. Keep it clean, hit your temps, and be accurate with time.

Efficiency on your system will involve some trial and error. 70% is a great starting point, you're not going to get 90%, nor do you really want to, so don't worry about that.

To determine your boil off rate, I would boil 1.5-2 gallons of water for an hour and see how much is remaining. Your boil off rate is likely between .25 -.5 gallons per hour.