Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Building my brewery

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2012, 04:59 PM   #1
Dustinj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Building my brewery

I posted in equipment but wasn't sure which forum is more correct.

As stated earlier I'm a beginner. I got the craft a brew one gallon extract kit. I'm going to modify my crawfish boiler with a weld less spigot and thermometer to move up to 5 gal brews and on to partial mash. Please help point me in the right direction.

I have plenty of space so thats not a problem. I'm a diy'er so building instead of buying sounds fun and much cheaper.

I'm go into put in an order with northern brewer. Can I ferment in one of their 6 gal bottling buckets with a spigot or should I go plastic carbouy then transfer to bottling bucket.

I have seen some setups on here with spigots and bottling spouts. I don't like the idea of siphoning. Seems like a lot could be wasted. As well as messy.

I will build an emerssian cooler out of copper tubing and connections from home depot.

I'll also be getting mesh filters and hydrometer kits and all of that stuff as well. I want to get to where I have a brew coming to finish every weekend or so, so I'll be growing and buying buckets and carbouys pretty frequently.

Thanks for any advice
Dustin

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 05:06 PM   #2
hoppyhoppyhippo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 266 Times on 219 Posts
Likes Given: 80

I would recommend getting a plastic bucket for your primary, they come with a grommeted lid and you just need a bung and airlock. You can also use a plastic carboy but considering the bucket is cheaper, that would be my personal suggestion. That way if something goes wrong, it's cheaper to replace.