Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Bucket lid popped off and brew in airlock.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2012, 07:15 PM   #1
TxBlackLager
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Bucket lid popped off and brew in airlock.

Hi,

I figured since I am a newbie I would put this questions here.

Today is day 3 in the fermentor and I came home to beer in the airlock, the lid loose and some had spilled out. I am not such how concerned about this I should be. Should I just force the lid back down and empty the airlock and refill it or what?

It was a 5 gallon batch in a 6 gallon plastic bucket. I thought that the buckets tend to have enough head room for if there is a lot of foam. But it seems like this was related to pressure.

I can post a photo if it helps.

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2012, 07:20 PM   #2
Eshorebrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Speaking from experience you're probably fine to go ahead and reseat the lid and clean/refill the airlock at this point. On future brews look into using a blow off tube assembly instead of an airlock for initial fermentation... will save your sanity.

My experience was that I wish I had a video of the krausen fountain shooting out of the holes on the airlock covering everything in my pantry prior to the lid blowing off.

Old 02-15-2012, 07:25 PM   #3
Piratwolf
Recipes 

Liked 127 Times on 119 Posts
Likes Given: 82

Hey, Tx!

Welcome to HBT!!!

First, your beer will most likely be just fine. Sounds like CO2 pressure blew your top. Happens a lot. Same for the beer in the airlock. I've had that 5-6 times and no harm done. When your beer is off-gassing that hard, it's unlikely that anything is going to be able to get in against the pressure!