Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Brooklyn Brew Shop Everyday IPA Kit Tips

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2013, 02:50 AM   #211
kingogames
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 114

My takeway from this thread is they have brew kits at Williams Sonoma??? I had no idea. I now have a reason to go to the mall...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2013, 11:18 PM   #212
Thunder_Chicken
Recipes 

Liked 657 Times on 461 Posts
Likes Given: 178

I'm just beginning to crack a few from this kit. My $0.02:

1) Advice to reduce the priming honey is spot-on. 3 tbsps of honey will give you champagne, not beer. 2 would seem to be about right.

2) Be patient and let this stuff bottle condition for at least 3 weeks at 70F. Even though it might be barely carbed at 1 week, it is very bitter and astringent. It mellows out nicely at three weeks. I am going to hang on to the others and crack them one per week to see how they develop.

Old 02-20-2013, 03:02 AM   #213
MTate37
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 104 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsyDanny View Post
I am doing the Everyday IPA from the book, not the kit. So I bought ingredients from my lhbs. The book does not mention OG or FG. Would anyone let me know what hydrometer readings they obtained either from the boxed kit or from lbhs ingredients.

Looks like I had a hydrometer reading of 1.076 on the post-boil wort, cooled to just below 70F. But it was only about 3/4 gallon by then. I may have topped it off with a bit too much water (just above the "one gallon" lettering on the gallon glass carboy), and that hydrometer reading was 1.038.

Am I in the ball park here?
I'm in bed now, so I can't put this into Beersmith, but if you download the trial and enter the recipe it will tell you what your OG and FG should be.