Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Brewrigs for dummies

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2009, 07:50 PM   #1
Brewmance
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 7

Default Brewrigs for dummies

Hello all,

I am still very new to homebrew with only 3 batches under my belt, and my first grain venture this past sunday.

Though while I am no way ready for such a set up, I keep seeing these amazing brewrigs with 3 kegs or coolers, burners and pumps all within a brilliant maze of stainless steel.

Would some one give me an idea what the different vessels purposes are, and how these rigs work?

thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2009, 07:58 PM   #2
android
Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 3

there's a ton of different ways to do it with the 3 kegs or 2 kegs and a cooler, or 2 coolers and a keg... many configurations.

generally, if you have 3 kegs, you use one for the HLT (hot liquor tank), one for the MLT (mashing/lautering tun), and one for the boil kettle.

you can do a gravity fed system (with three levels, usually HLT on top, MLT in the middle and boil kettle on the bottom). OR you can use an electric pump to have a single tier system. as far as the complexity of these systems, you can make them super complex with a counter flow chiller, electric control of everything, fancy plumbing, etc. or you can make them simpler using an immersion chiller and just the pump... there's many acronyms for the different set-ups.

if there's one cooler involved, it is generally the MLT as one keg heats the water, drains into the cooler to mash/sparge and then that drains into the boil kettle...

again, there's many ways to do this, hope this helps clear some of it up for you.

ebay temp controller | thermostat temp controller

Old 04-02-2009, 08:05 PM   #3
bull8042
I like 'em shaved
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes