Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Brewing in the Tropics...am I limited?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2012, 12:40 AM   #1
haggendas
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default Brewing in the Tropics...am I limited?

Forgive me.... I am EXTREMELY NEW to home brewing did my FIRST batch with a kit last night. I did a 5 gal. batch of American Light last night as it looked like the simplest of the kits that I currently have. This morning the primary fermenter was bubbling at about 1-2 bubbles per second so I assume it's going well. I also have a kit for a Porter and a kit for Amber which I will try next week.

I live in the tropics where it averages 82-84F all year. I’ve looked, but I could not find any specific threads regarding brewing in warmer tropical weather.

My question…. Am I limited to the types of beers I can brew without refrigeration or cooler temperatures? Are there any concerns I should be aware of brewing in such warm weather?

Haggendas

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2012, 12:57 AM   #2
beergolf
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 382 Times on 311 Posts
Likes Given: 118

Yes ther are concerns. You need to figure out how to keep your fermenter cool. Search swamp cooler. It is basically a tub of water that you put your fermenter in and then put some frozen bottles of water in ther to keep the temps down.

Most ale yeasts like the temp to be in the 60's. Too hot and the produce off flavors and fusel alcohols.

The only yeast that I can think of that likes it that hot is 3724. Belgian Saison. Even most Belgian yeasts need to be kept cooler for the first few days of fermentation.

Old 10-29-2012, 07:37 AM   #3
haggendas
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Thanks BG. I'll move the fermenter into a cooler when I get home and fill with cold/ice water.