Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Brewing on a Sailboat....

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2008, 12:11 AM   #11
Moonpile
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

I used to live aboard a 44' sailboat as a teenager, and I was a yacht broker here in Annapolis, once upon a time. Never brewed on board, but I did have a listing for a brokerage sailboat that had a tower built in above the icebox/refrigerator. The owner was a homebrewer who would bring a corney with him.

Water saver: The Vinator bottle sprayer. This is a good buy for anyone, but a pint or two of sanitizer solution can sanitize all of your bottles if you go that route.

I've never used the Party Pigs (though I own one from a bunch of stuff I bought off craigslist), but I think that might be a really good solution for you instead of bottles and wouldn't take up too much room in the icebox/fridge. They're plastic.

The constant motion is going to make clarifying your finished product kind of hard in the fermenter.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2008, 12:13 AM   #12
Moonpile

Recipes 

Oh, and ingredients-wise, I'd probably plan on ordering a few batche's worth at a time and having them shipped to meet you someplace. When you're in Europe you should probably go from European suppliers.

Old 12-10-2008, 12:40 AM   #13
FxdGrMind
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I own a sail boat, much smaller than yours, but I have aspirations on a 38' for single handling the inside passage and then down to BaHa... we shall see after that.

I'm thinking 2.5 gal batches should be doable and a 3 gal keg should fit in your fridge. Problem is that it's still going to take up a lot of your food space on long legs.