Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Brewing with household remedies?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2009, 10:04 PM   #1
kbutcher5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Brewing with household remedies?

Okay so here is the deal, I am a student that wants to learn some things about brewing and possibly make my own beer. The only problem is that I know absolutely zilch about brewing and I can't find anything to answer my questions. So here goes:

1a. Is it possible to make beer from household remedies, like bakers yeast, fruit and the like to make cheap beer?
1b. If it is possible, then what would I require. I heard that bakers yeast, sugar and water should be able to make beer?

2a. I hear that one has to sanitise everything thoroughly, what is the reason for this?
2b. I hear that sanitising has to be done, so the beer won't be spoiled, if this is so then what does spoiled mean, no alcohol, bad taste, toxicity or maybe a fourth thing?

3a. I live in a decent size apartment, what are the safety issues if any?
3b. Is it even responsible to brew in your apartment?

4a. What kind of container or "fermenter" I believe it is called should I use, is there any special requirements?
4b. Could I make/build my own container for my beer, and if so, how would I go about doing this?

I hope I am not asking too many stupid questions, and hoping for some good answers, but thanks in advance anyway

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2009, 10:06 PM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2767 Times on 1657 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

Here...read this...you'll find everything you need to brew real beer not hooch like you described....but everything else..sanitization, fermenter size..is here.

How to Brew - By John Palmer - Introduction