Brewing a brewhouse munich dark lager

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spohl1

Reaction score
Im new to brewing and currently have a red ale fermenting now and will be doing a brew house munich dark lager next. I was wondering about possibly adding some this to improve this beer/ possibly up the abv slightly. This beer has the potential to get to around 7% but wouldnt mind 8ish. Any suggestions for flavor/abv increase?

Im new to brewing and currently have a red ale fermenting now and will be doing a brew house munich dark lager next. I was wondering about possibly adding some this to improve this beer/ possibly up the abv slightly. This beer has the potential to get to around 7% but wouldnt mind 8ish. Any suggestions for flavor/abv increase?

Not trying to make trouble but you're new to brewing and are gong to make a lager. Do you have the chilling space to lager?

Not trying to make trouble but you're new to brewing and are gong to make a lager. Do you have the chilling space to lager?

From what I've read this kit comes with Cooper's ale yeast so unless he swaps out for another yeast actual lagering won't be an issue. Just brew it like an ale.

Sphol, if this is just your second brew I'd be inclined to suggest you just brew it as per the instructions with the following tweaks (if you use the Cooper's yeast). Ferment at three weeks at around 18degreesC, bottle condition for three weeks at around 20degreesC and chill in the fridge for a 5-7 days before drinking (not the whole batch just plan ahead a little, think you'll want a half dozen for Friday, stick em in the fridge on Monday).