Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Brew tastes like very bitter grapefruit juice

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2010, 08:14 PM   #1
littleScrapper
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Brew tastes like very bitter grapefruit juice

Hey there,

this is my first time posting on HBT, i've found it very helpful to me over the last month.

this is my brother and i's first batch of brew, so we're kind of learning and making it up as we go along here.

we purchased an Oktoberfest Brew House kit from the beer store. it came with a large bag of wort, you don't have to add sugar, but the guy at the store said we can still do a boil if we want to add extra hops.

the two of us are huge hop heads and wanted to add some extra hop flavor. we only have a 4 L (~1 Gal) pot for doing our boiling in, but it's all we've got...

we boiled a portion of our wort for a total of one hour. we added 1/2 oz of mt. hood hops at the beginning of the boil, and added the other 1/2 ounce to the hop sock for the last 8 min.

everything was clean, except it took quite a while to cool down our wort to 78 decrees where we pitched.

we used a the Belgian Wyeast (i think), not sure what number... everything finally took off after about a 3 day stall (maybe a little more than 72 hours)

i wasn't home for it, but apparently the apartment reeked of eggs (sulfur) so bad that my little brother had to move the primary to a different room. pretty sure that's normal for a lager though.

after one week when fermentation had stopped, we racked it into a secondary fermenter (brightening tank) so it can clear a bit for a few weeks. by this time there was no egg smell, so i assume it was only yeast farts.

hydrometer reading was fine, 1.012 i think..