brew pot

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nickolas388

Reaction score
hi guys , im a newbie looking for a brew pot. i was wondering, can i use an aluminum stock pot? or does it have to be stainless steel? this pot im looking at is 20 quarts by the way.

thanks,

-nick

I saw a 54 quart aluminum pot for $20 yesterday at food 4 less. They had 40 quart pots too. They looked decent and I think they had a basket too, but not sure.

I've never used aluminum (which doesn't mean there is anything wrong with it), but I have used a ceramic coated steel pot. It was very cheap, and lasted for about 10 years before it got chipped.
It worked fine before the chip, but not afterwards.

-a.

Aluminum is fine. 20qts is quite small though. You could only do a 3 gallon batch in pot that size.

20quarts is too small? isnt that 5 gallons though?

I saw a 54 quart aluminum pot for $20 yesterday at food 4 less. They had 40 quart pots too. They looked decent and I think they had a basket too, but not sure.

ill have to give them a call, thanks a lot.

edit: never mind, looks like there just located in cali =x

I use a ss 5G stock pot for 2.5-3 gallon partial boils. Works fine for me. I got a set of 4 nested ss stock pots with lids & steamer trays at Giant Eagle on sale for $25. All polished too.

i was told if the beer bubbles over, you can just add a little cold water. do most people use bigger than 20quart pots though?

I've read on here where many folks go big off the bat,or move to bigger ones when they go AG. I can do partial mash in my 5g BK very easily. So it'll be a while till I feel the need for big.expensive hardware.