Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Brew in a Bag or Mash Tun

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2012, 06:47 AM   #1
chefrand15
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 6

Default Brew in a Bag or Mash Tun

Which technique do you feel is better BIAB or MLT and why?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-25-2012, 07:07 AM   #2
theveganbrewer
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 290 Times on 206 Posts
Likes Given: 265

Mash Tun because it only costs 40 bucks and fuels the DIY in most homebrewers. And it looks cooler.

-Retired Homebrewer

Old 07-25-2012, 07:22 AM   #3
daksin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 272 Times on 238 Posts
Likes Given: 323

I'm a professional brewer now, but at home I am a BIAB guy. This is strictly a matter of opinion (I predict the debate will be energetic), but I love that I never had to acquire any equipment at all to brew all grain. I can mash 23 pounds of grain in my 8 gallon pot, do a batch sparge in my 7.5 gallon kettle, combine the two, and make a kickass barleywine without doing the work to convert an MLT. Nevermind the money- I love spending my free cash on beer gear, but it's just a bonus that I never had to shell out for a craigslist gatorade cooler or stainless braid, nor invest the time to build my system. I get great efficiency with my hybrid-BIAB method and make award winning beers that I love to drink. Can't beat that in my opinion.

I totally have MAD respect for those who build their three-vessel systems though. That *redacted* is wicked! Some of yall have systems in your garages I would frickin' love to have at the brewery. All automated and junk. Crazy awesome!

I can't be arsed to keep up this list of what's in the fermenters, but hey, check out the cool brewery I own!

twitter.com/2kidsbrewing .. facebook.com/2kidsbrewing .. 2kidsbrewing.com

Old 07-25-2012, 10:28 AM   #4
mikeysab
HBT_SUPPORTER.png