Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Brand new to brewing. Some basic questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2013, 04:42 AM   #1
fearlessbanana
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Brand new to brewing. Some basic questions.

So the first videos I stopped upon was the craigtube series. I later read that all canned brewing results in a garbage product. I don't have the money or space for all grain brewing.. so my question is what would be an easy and efficient way to produce a quality batch? What style of brewing? And are there any kits or guides you could recommend me for that style. Forgive me if my terminology is off. I'm very new to all of this. Thanks

-Anthony

Old 01-24-2013, 04:51 AM   #2
lgilmore
Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 147

Try midwest, northern brewer, austin brewer for kits for starters. And people can make crappy all grain batches of beer just as well as those who do poorly with extracts.

This is probably one of the best places to learn. I also found midwest's faq section to be a great help. I spent about 2 months reading first and thinking over my set up to get started.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2013, 05:16 AM   #3
Psych
Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Frankly you can get good beer (read: drinkable and sharable) from canned kits. But you will get better beer from extract, then extract with steeping grains, etc. etc. Or it'll give you more control, and thus you get to find your niche.

But the suggested retailers above should get you going, unless you live in Canada

Old 01-24-2013, 05:55 AM   #4
kaconga
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 133 Times on 102 Posts
Likes Given: 44

Focus on getting fresh kits. Use bottled water instead of tap. Keep your fermentor in the proper temp range. These three things will help with any style of beer made from a kit.