Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Bottles and Caps

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2008, 10:55 PM   #1
Fenix26
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Bottles and Caps

hey everyone, I'm pretty new to home brewing, I'm in college and I don't have a whole lot of money to spend. I have a question about bottles and caps.

I am going to brew my first batch of beer soon, but I don't have any bottles yet.
With the capping device that is on the way, am I able to recap bottles such as, Bud Light, Miller, Becks etc.. or do I need authentic home brewing bottles to do stuff like that?

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2008, 11:01 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4366 Times on 3174 Posts
Likes Given: 850

Any bottles will work, but screw tops are not very good. They tend to be thin around the top and will break, or else not hold a seal.

A good one to use is Sam Adams. Those bottles are great, and the labels come off easy.

Old 02-25-2008, 11:01 PM   #3
quickerNu

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Do a search, lots of info about that. Basically a wing-style capper (whats typically included in a kit) will not seal twist off bottles well. A bench style capper will do better with twist offs in a pinch. Nothing wrong with re-using bottles with pry-off style caps.

[I'm back!]

Old 02-25-2008, 11:13 PM   #4
Poindexter

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

I got my first two cases of bottles dumpster diving in a college town. And you got time. Even if you brewed Saturday and your airlock is slowing down, you got plenty of time.

Just drive around looking in recycle bins at the curb for pry off type bottles. Honestly, I didn't have to leave my block to come up with 52 bottles. Skip the screw tops.