Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Bottle-Conditioning Temperatures

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2007, 12:35 AM   #1
mew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 4 Posts

Default Bottle-Conditioning Temperatures

What temperature is best to condition my bottles at? I was thinking of giving it two weeks at 68 F ish and then leaving in in the fridge for the last week. What temp. do you keep your bottles at?

Keg 2: Empty

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2007, 12:40 AM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4636 Times on 3367 Posts
Likes Given: 909

I keep them at room temperature until carbed, then store either in the laundry room (in the 50's) or basement.

Old 03-17-2007, 02:05 PM   #3
max-the-knife
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I'm not an expert by any means because the last two brews I did, took 4-5 weeks to develop carbonation in the bottles. My problem was that it was a bit too cool in my storage area (65 F) and my yeast worked very slow. After 3 weeks I realized the problem (plus some questions answered on the forum) and I gently agitated the bottles and placed them in a room that was 72 F. Now they are carbonating nicely.

SECONDARY #1: empty
SECONDARY #2:
empty
KEGGED: American Lite Lager
FUTURE PROJECTS:[/
COLOR] IPA, Bock , Black Lager

Old 03-17-2007, 02:35 PM   #4
Schlenkerla

Recipes 

Liked 87 Times on 65 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by mew
What temperature is best to condition my bottles at? I was thinking of giving it two weeks at 68 F ish and then leaving in in the fridge for the last week. What temp. do you keep your bottles at?
Just like Yooper said. I go 2-3 weeks at room temp is good.