Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Bottle carbonation theory

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2010, 12:05 PM   #1
BrookdaleBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Bottle carbonation theory

I have noticed when I bottle carb that the beer generally stays hazy for about 24 hours and then drops completely clear. I can only assume that this means the yeast is done eating the priming sugar at that point. Also, most of my starters ferment out in 24 hours (granted, with a lot more yeast... but also a lot more sugar.)

I'm no scientist, but I've always assumed the reason it takes a standard gravity beer at least 3 weeks to carbonate is because that is the amount of time it takes for enough CO2 to be absorbed into solution at room temp.

So, assuming that yeast generally ferment out my priming sugar in 24 hours and knowing that CO2 absorbs into solution more quickly at colder temps (kegs generally carb after 1 week in the fridge at serving pressure), would it stand to reason that if I let a beer stay at room temp until it clears, then throw it in the fridge for a week, it would come out perfectly carbed since the CO2 is already in the headspace of the bottle and just needs to be absorbed into solution?

I decided to test this theory with my latest batch and will report back with results. If anyone else has tried anything like this, I'd love to hear your experiences.

NOTE: I am in no way saying you can speed up CONDITIONING time this way. I would only attempt this method with smaller, low ABV beers that can condition in a few weeks time. I am only attempting to speed up the carbonation process.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2010, 12:09 PM   #2
Justibone
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 69