The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > boiler opinions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2012, 12:09 PM   #1
DHdriver
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default boiler opinions

Does anyone have any experience/opinions with this setup? They're available. at home hardware.
http://www.rankam.com/Product/Detail/53

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2012, 01:55 PM   #2
grem135
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 77 Times on 63 Posts
Likes Given: 72

I asked about this one at basspro the main thing the guys didnt like were those side rails and having to lift the pot over them. I have not looked at one to see if they are easily removable.

Brew On!

Old 12-27-2012, 02:50 PM   #3
twalte
Recipes 

Liked 29 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 38

I am new to home brewing and I started with a 32 quart pot. I found that I quickly went from extract/steeping to full boils and now to all grain. I regret the size brew kettle that I went with, but it is what it is.

My thought is that I should have bought a 10 gallon pot minimum to prevent boil overs. You may find the 30 quart too small rather quickly and end up spending more as you buy another brew kettle as you attempt new methods.

Just my two cents, but I think you will find it too small in the future.

Old 12-27-2012, 02:55 PM   #4
Golddiggie
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 472 Times on 417 Posts
Likes Given: 266

Between the automatic shutoff (you'll need to defeat) and its general design, I say pass on it. Looks like it will really suck for brewing. Especially at only 38k BTU rating.

跟猴子比丟屎 ・ Gun HOE-tze bee DIO-se

On Tap: Caramel Ale, Mocha Porter II, MO SMaSH IPA
Waiting/Carbonating: 12.5% Wee Honey II, 8.9% Old Ale, English Brown Ale, Lickah ESB, Mocha Porter II
Fermenting
K1:
K2: Epic mead
K3: TripSix
On Deck: Caramel Ale
Aging:mead