HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Boil Volume Importance?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2009, 03:29 PM   #1
Forbein11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Boil Volume Importance?

I'm new to brewing (2 batches, neither bottled yet). I'm planning on brewing again this weekend and bottling batch number one.

Could someone please explain what difference boil volume makes? I'm doing extract with specialty grains. The initial volume I've used is 2 gallons for a 5 gallon batch. I'm using the Brewer's Handbook for recipes for now but was looking to brew BierMuncher's Pale Ale. What are the advantages/disadvantages to using a greater initial volume if any? I'm asking because using a simple recipe program, the IBU's change from 11 to 35 for a give recipe when using a 2 gallon initial boil vs. a 5 gallon full boil. I don't want to screw up.

Thank you in advance for the help.

Jamie

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2009, 03:33 PM   #2
Parker36
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 4

So in general, bigger boils are preferred to smaller ones. This is for two main reasons 1) You get better hop utilzation with larger volumes (can save some cash/hops) and 2) you get better mixing of the wort in the boil than you do by adding top up water.

My advice is always to boil as much as you stove/pot can handle

Old 02-27-2009, 03:34 PM   #3
McKBrew

Recipes 

Liked 29 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Without getting too technical, one of the advantages of a full boil is better hop utilization. If you look at the bottom of this page you will see a link of similar threads. Here is the link to one that might be useful.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f13/hop-utilization-there-minimum-boil-volume-23308/

Old 02-27-2009, 03:36 PM   #4
llazy_llama
Recipes 

Liked 53 Times on 25 Posts

this link answers your question.

Old 02-27-2009, 03:59 PM   #5