New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > boil volume and hop utilization?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2012, 06:04 PM   #1
Jayhem
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 247 Times on 199 Posts
Likes Given: 1128

Default boil volume and hop utilization?

I'm pretty new at this but have learned more than I should be reading too much!

I understand that your boil volume effects the hop utilization; more boil volume = more IBU's from the same hop quantity.

My question is about "Average Boil Volume".

Lets say my recipe calls for an average boil volume of 3.5 gallons (Partial boil) in order to give me 37 IBU's. Does this mean I should start the boil with 3.5 gallons or does this mean that over the entire 60 min boil I should average 3.5 gallons? If it means the latter then I would need to start with around 4.0 gallons so that I have around 3.0 gallons left at flame out due to evaporation loss so that I average 3.5 gal.

??

Just need clarification. I don't want my IBU's to be messed up because I don't understand what the calculators are asking for with "Average Boil Volume".

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 06:59 PM   #2
fixitoscar
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Quote:
over the entire 60 min boil I should average 3.5 gallons
yes

Quote:
would need to start with around 4.0 gallons so that I have around 3.0 gallons left at flame out due to evaporation loss so that I average 3.5 gal.
yes, but I would work it out so i end up with a 3.5 final volume The less top up the better.
You can either lower the heat so your boil off rate decreases (preffered)
or up your primary volume (if your kettle can handle it)

Old 02-03-2012, 07:03 PM   #3
mcaple1
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts