Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > boil or not?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2005, 02:21 PM   #11
jjsscram
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by OBX
Go read this and you will learn the basics. http://www.howtobrew.com/

I agree most informative site.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2005, 02:44 PM   #12
tnlandsailor

Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts

There are about 3 or 4 brewers that I have come to know through the Internet whom I trust implicitly. John Palmer is one of them. Howtobrew.com is the best free advice you are ever going to get in the realm of homebrewing.

Prosit,

Prosit!

Hands-On Brewing

Dennis Collins
Knoxville, TN
Innovative Homebrew Solutions
Home of the Hop Stopper!
www.ihomebrewsolutions.com

Old 05-28-2005, 01:39 AM   #13
Scubadude
Recipes 

Freddie,

I'm new to the homebrew game too. What I did was to start with ingredient kits. They have step by step instructions on what to do. I purchased a beginner's kit that had all the equipment I needed except for a brewpot. I bought a 4 gallon enamel stock pot for that.

Then I bugged a number of local bars for their empty bottles. I got 6 cases for about $6.

I have started drinking my 1st batch(pilsner), I bottled my 2nd batch last night(American Light), and have 3 more kits coming(Sam Adam's clone, IPA, and a stout).

By using these beginner ingredient kits, you learn what the actual cooking process is like. I figure once I have 5 or 10 kits done, I may go to extracts using recipes off this and other forums.

So far, I'd have to say the start of the hobby has started quite nicely.

Old 05-28-2005, 07:27 AM   #14
92greenyj
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts