Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > The BIG upgrade

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2012, 06:33 PM   #1
RipUSMC
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default The BIG upgrade

For the most part, I think I've got the search feature down, so I'm less likely to ask somthing that hasn't been covered in either the wiki or here in the beginners forum.

So here's my big question. I still think I'm a beginner by a long shot, but I am REALLY enjoying the process, kit, the brew, etc of homebrewing and expect it'll remain in the litany of hobbies I pursue till the big keg in the sky ferments me to the top (or equally likely I am syphoned down to the bottom of the trub. That said, I need some real thought on how to upgrade kit sensibly so as to avoid the upgrade by increments I've suffered in every other hobby, sport, musical instrument, HiFi system, etc I have experienced in my life (feel free to "like" if you still have your old component HiFi system...).

1. Should I just dig in and buy a conical for better light control, fermenting, CO2 infusion, yeast saving, etc? If so, where, how many, to start?
2. Should I anticipate needing a better, bigger brew pot?
3. Plate chillers? How many, what kind?
4. CO2, keg kit? Corny kit?

I realize a lot of this has to do with where I want to go, so I'll express it as best I can: I see myself in 5-years as a mid- to low-range brewer, producing on average 5-gallons a month and producing regular seasonals. I see myself wanting "clean" systems, i.e. minimal impact on the familys live/smell space, but will likely continue to have a man cave I can deck out with whatever I need w/o interference from bands of ravaging, marauding children, but not with a basement playground to set up a massive brewery.

My gear so far:
2X glass carboys
1X 5 gal bucket
1X 5 gal bottling bucket