Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beginning grain steeping methods

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2009, 02:45 AM   #1
ABushman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Beginning grain steeping methods

Hello everybody.
I have a question about steeping my grains prior to the main boil. Keep in mind that I am a newb, and have only made about a half-dozen 5 gallon batches of beer so far, all using a variety of dry extracts and different specialty grains. But, I’ve been reading recipes and thinking about making a bunch of different varieties of beer, but I keep returning to the same realization – “that’s not how I’ve been doing it!” I know there are a hundred ways to do many things, and often times many of them are right. But I was just wondering if there was a reason for the way most people seem to steep their grain for the boil. Most of the recipes that I see state to steep X-lbs of grain in X-gallons of water at X-temperature for X-minutes. (Sorry for the quadruple-X post; one worse than triple-X!).
Anyway, in all of my recipes, I’ve added my grains to the full boil volume of cold water (6 gallons) and steeped while heating until the water reached 165 degrees f, then removed the grain and waited for a full boil before adding my malt. Is there a reason not to do it this way – am I just not achieving a particular level of control that I could be using the other method?
Any comments and/or suggestions appreciated!
Allen

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-13-2009, 02:58 AM   #2
JuanKenobi
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

You're doing it right. The only thing you might want to do is let those specialty grains steep at like 155 degrees for 20 or 30 minutes before taking them out and proceeding to boil.