New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beginning Brewer Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2010, 12:42 PM   #1
dbarnes
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Beginning Brewer Questions

Hello everyone this is my first time on the forum and first time brewing and I think I'm hooked. I love the process and want to continue to learn about this new hobby that people love so much. Have a few questions if anyone can help.

1. Have a 4 year old stove which is fairly nice and has 1 high output burner, or so it says. Have a 7 gallon brewpot and wanted to boil 4 gallons water before putting Malt Extract in. Waited 1-2 hours, closer to 2, for water boil and nothing just small air bubbles would surface. This happen to anyone? Is it the size of the pot, the burner, etc? Any remedies?

2. I sanitized the airlock and put it back together. Poured Star San up to the line and put it in the fermentation lid. Should i dilute the Star San in the airlock with water like i did when sanitizing equipment? Do you put it in the airlock before or after you put the middle piece in? It's a 3 piece airlock.

3. Star San in airlock has spilled out overnight onto bucket lid. Not a big deal but it is now half of what i put in. Should i refill to line?

Sorry this is long everyone and thanks for all the help for those who respond. I hope I'm welcomed to the forums and look forward to trying my first batch. As long as my mistakes aren't costly. Good brewing to all. Thank You

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2010, 12:57 PM   #2
jaynik
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

1. Boil less water. Try 2 gallons next time. Your high output stove will kill itself trying to boil all that water.
2. I just use tap water after I've sanitized the airlock, some use diluted starsan, others use vodka.