HBT 2015 Big Giveaway - Enter Now

Huge Supporting Membership Discounts - 20% Off

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beginner here, first batch tonight: advice??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2011, 04:24 PM   #1
TurboYeast
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Beginner here, first batch tonight: advice??

First off, I am a new member and this is my first post. Im sure there have been hundreds of new member/beginning batch posts, so thanks in advance for any advice. I am brewing my first batch tonight which is a abita turbodog mock kit. We will be using a 10 gallon stainless kettle on a propane burner. we will be brewing a full batch of five gallons. Any advice as far as sanitizing the kettle itself? and does anyone have any advice as far as switching over to a glass carboy after the brew is done. For the first brew we are probably just going to stick to the primary and forgoe the secondary for simplicity sakes. Bad or good idea? As far as sanitation goes, i realize that one germ on anything can ruin an entire batch of beer. Once again thanks in advance!!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 04:29 PM   #2
Ineedaride2
Recipes 

No real reason to sanitize the boil kettle, as far as I know.

You don't need to secondary, just leave it in primary.

Not sure what you're asking about the carboy, though. If you're asking how to get the wort in there, most people use a siphon hose. If you don't have that, I don't see why a sterilized funnel wouldn't work.

Good luck!

Old 02-10-2011, 04:35 PM   #3
tomije87
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboYeast View Post