Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beginner extract brewing howto

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2014, 03:39 PM   #141
noodleface84
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Yeah, an aquarium heater would fit inside the fermentation vessel. I assume it would be hard to keep it sterilized? trouble is, a heater tray or belt apparently get too hot!!!

and yeah i was referring to transferring the brew from the primary fermentation vessel to a bottling bucket. Not a secondary fermentation vessel.

May need to invest in a bottling bucket as well.... its getting expensive, this little hobby of mine!!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2014, 04:24 PM   #142
pompeiisneaks
Why that human mask?
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by noodleface84 View Post
Hi peeps. I am quite new to brewing and I have some questions here..

I am about to start my 3rd batch, which will be the 'Admiral Reserve' by Woodforde's.

Firstly, is it better to use mineral water? as the water here in the south of England is very hard.

Secondly, i assume the 'hop enhancer' they supply is more for flavor rather than the initial bitterness and this should be added at the end of the boil?

Thirdly, during the primary fermentation, is it better to use a heater belt or tray? or would an aquarium thermostatic heater be better? My house is cold all of the time!

Fourthly, when transferring to bottles, it states to use 1/2 a teaspoon of sugar per bottle but can I put more in to gain a higher abv?

...and finally, what are the benefits of siphoning from the primary vessel into another vessel prior to bottling?

If you can answer any of these questions, it would be much appreciated as I am keen to get going on it soon.

Cheers dudes,

Noodle or @noodleface84 on twitter!