The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beginner extract brewing howto

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2014, 12:57 AM   #121
trapanesed
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Hey guys I'm new to the brewing scene and need some advice. To begin with, I'm brewing my first IPA extract kit. I forgot to take and initial specific gravity reading, and I do not know what the ending specific gravity should be. The kit says let it ferment for two weeks; however, my temp is a little low (64 degrees) and I'm wondering if I should leave it in longer. Also, I noticed that my secondary carboy does not have an airlock. Should I put an airlock on it during the dry hop phase. Sorry for the huge question. Thanks

Sent from my iPad using Home Brew

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2014, 01:57 PM   #122
unionrdr
Wannabe author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 1826 Times on 1609 Posts
Likes Given: 1294

64F is fine for most ale yeasts. But Cooper's starts getting slughish at 64 or less. Look for an FG of around 1.010 to 1.012. You also don't need to secondary in order to dry hop. Many of us do it in primary. Either way,wait for the beer to get down to a stable FG first & setle out clear or slightly misty before 1 week dry hop.

Old 03-01-2014, 01:37 PM   #123
trapanesed
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by unionrdr View Post
64F is fine for most ale yeasts. But Cooper's starts getting slughish at 64 or less. Look for an FG of around 1.010 to 1.012. You also don't need to secondary in order to dry hop. Many of us do it in primary. Either way,wait for the beer to get down to a stable FG first & setle out clear or slightly misty before 1 week dry hop.

Thanks for the response. Why did my kit come with a glass carboy. What's the benefit of fermenting in glass carboy? Is it used for another purpose?

Sent from my iPad using Home Brew

Old 03-01-2014, 02:02 PM   #124
unionrdr
Wannabe author