The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beginner brew pots for all grain setup

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2012, 04:53 PM   #1
rizziot
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Beginner brew pots for all grain setup

Hey everyone,

I am just getting into the "home brew" and after reading a lot of forums I think I want to take the curve head on and skip the extract brewing. I figure learning the hard way is a great education.

I am shopping for some brew pots, any suggestions as to which to buy and how many with what fittings? I don't want to spend $400 per kettle so please keep in mind a budget of about $100 - $250 per brew pot.

I want to do 10 gallon batches, if this is the case I think I am looking for 15 gallon brew pots?

Thanks in advance!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2012, 05:16 PM   #2
MedicMang
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 6 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 141 Times on 103 Posts
Likes Given: 21

I've been all grain for a little while now. I'm still making batches in my crap 7.5 gal aluminum pot. I've recently been looking into upgrading my kettle as well. After much research, I have found that you should probably spend in upwards of $300 for a decent kettle. AH HE'LL NAH, I said. The ones that are $100 are made so poorly that it's not worth it. I read that on some of the cheap pots they have a sticker on them saying not to carry a pot by the handles if it is full. WHAT??? That didn't sound promising.

Cheaper solution?? What I am currently doing to upgrade my kettle is looking on Craigslist for an empty 15.5 gal keg and cutting the top off of it. Probably spend about $100 and it is heavy duty with built-in handles. Just kinda makes sense to me. Good luck on you kettle adventure.

Old 08-27-2012, 05:23 PM   #3
Golddiggie
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 472 Times on 417 Posts
Likes Given: 266