Come enter the BrewHardware Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beersmith Equipment profile
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2013, 05:25 AM   #1
Beerzilla81
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 39
Likes Given: 1

Default Beersmith Equipment profile

Hello fellow brewers, I have a question concerning the equipment profile set-up on beersmith. I recently converted a 10 gallon rubbermaid cooler into a mash tun. And when i go to select the one profile that matches mine I run into a problem. You see, I have an 8 gallon brew pot and not the 15 gallon brew pot it displays. How can i change this?

__________________
Beerzilla81 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2013, 05:34 AM   #2
stpug
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,672
Liked 408 Times on 351 Posts
Likes Given: 182

Default

Copy the profile that closest matches yours and customize the new profile to match your equipment

__________________
:: St. Pug ::
stpug is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2013, 05:36 AM   #3
501irishred
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
501irishred's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 1,238
Liked 123 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Go into "profiles" then "equipment", it should pull up all the preloaded profiles. Single click on the one that closely resembles what you have, then do a copy/paste. This will create a duplicate which you can then rename to what ever you want "Berzilla's 8 gallon equipment....". Keep good notes your next couple batches and begin adjusting the numbers to fine tune to your actual numbers.

__________________

Whiskey's too rough, champagne costs too much, vodka puts my mouth in gear
This little refrain should help me explain as a matter of fact I like beer - Tom T Hall

501irishred is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2013, 06:13 AM   #4
Beerzilla81
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 39
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 501irishred View Post
Go into "profiles" then "equipment", it should pull up all the preloaded profiles. Single click on the one that closely resembles what you have, then do a copy/paste. This will create a duplicate which you can then rename to what ever you want "Berzilla's 8 gallon equipment....". Keep good notes your next couple batches and begin adjusting the numbers to fine tune to your actual numbers.
i dont mean to sound like a total noob. but, when you say adjusting numbers what exactly do you mean? I know how to do the copy/paste profile, i had a phils lauter tun prior to the 10 gal. cooler.
__________________
Beerzilla81 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2013, 11:29 AM   #5
brewkinger
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
brewkinger's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: East Podunck, Vermont
Posts: 1,744
Liked 210 Times on 176 Posts
Likes Given: 252

Default

Take notes of things like how much wort remains in the bottom of your mash tun (dead space loss)
How much loss in the bottom of your kettle.

These values can be used to customize your profile.

__________________
Blackbird Brewing

PRIMARY:
SECONDARY: Apple Cider (13 gallons)
KEGGED: What Have I Dun IPA?
PLANNING: SNPA Clone v2.0
PLANNING: Blackbird Base Haus Pale Ale
PLANNING: Cascade SMaSH
Do not mistake my kindness for weakness. I am kind to everyone, but when someone is unkind to me, weak is not what you will remember about me.
brewkinger is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2013, 12:57 PM   #6
grathan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,146
Liked 140 Times on 109 Posts
Likes Given: 87

Default

Click on "Help" up at the top. Click on "videos". In the getting started section click on setting up equipment profile.

If you do infusion mash you probably won't dial it in for a couple batches.

__________________
grathan is offline
brewkinger Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2013, 01:28 PM   #7
unionrdr
Wannabe author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
unionrdr's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sheffield, Ohio
Posts: 31,847
Liked 2406 Times on 2096 Posts
Likes Given: 1772

Default

Right above the recipe window,there are buttons for design,mash,notes,etc. You can click on notes,& add your experiences with mash temp,volume,boil off losses,etc. You can then use that info to change the numbers in your equipment profile when you click on it. It'll bringup a window with the pertinent info that can be changed.

__________________
Everything works if ya let it-Roady(meatloaf)
NEW, REVISED EDITION of book one of Time Lords 2034 series now on Amazon Kindle! http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NTA0L6G
My homebrewing book "Tippy Tippy Tappy" on Kindle! http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00PBAP6JO
unionrdr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beersmith equipment profile question Righlander All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 4 04-20-2013 02:58 AM
Beersmith: Equipment Profile Clarification Plz gunrock Brewing Software 0 03-24-2013 10:51 PM
Beersmith-equipment profile for 5gal batch in 10 gal setup Bennypapa Brewing Software 2 10-31-2012 06:29 PM
BeerSmith: Where to put HLT dead space in equipment profile? BVilleggiante Brewing Software 1 10-03-2012 06:33 AM
Beersmith Equipment Profile Question EvilDeadAsh Brewing Software 3 08-28-2012 10:48 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS