Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beer Ruined

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2010, 04:12 PM   #1
mudhen5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Beer Ruined

So disappointed. I had brewed an Extra Pale Ale that I had purchased from Northern Brewer. This was the second recipe kit I had made and it turned out to be a disaster. I followed the recipe precisely and followed all suggestions from John Palmer, just like I did the first time when it turned out great. The beer tastes like really sour apple juice, almost vinegary. Everything was sanitized and I made exposure to oxygen was kept to a minimum. I'm stumped. What could have happened?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2010, 04:19 PM   #2
nootay
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 7

im pretty new to this but from what ive read any type of sour or vinegar taste indicates some type of infection.

Old 04-25-2010, 04:23 PM   #3
jturie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Sorry to hear that...I just kicked a keg of that kit, and it was probably the best beer I ever made.

I'm guessing that you got a sneaky infection in there somehow...sometimes the bottling process is the culprit due to improper sanitation of the valve or the hose or the bottling wand.

Did it taste OK before you bottled it? Did the fermentation process appear to go normally?

You might try sending an email to NB describing your situation and ask for their help. They might give you another kit or a partial credit. They are a really great outfit.

Keg 1: Rye IPA
Keg 2: Rye IPA
Keg 3: Chocolate Oatmeal Stout
Keg 4: Empty

On Deck: Lemon Line Hefe, Saison, SNPA Clone

"You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline. It helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer." -- Frank Zappa

Old 04-25-2010, 04:41 PM   #4
Nugent
HBT_SUPPORTER.png