Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > beer not fermenting

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2013, 02:37 AM   #1
WillKing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default beer not fermenting

This is only my second batch that I have done, so I'm still very new to home brewing. My question- I brewed a smoked Porter 4 days ago and there has been little to no activity in the airlock, I tired to stir the yeast back into suspension yesterday and still no activity. Do I need to pitch more yeast or let it sit for a little while? If I do need to pitch more yeast, so I need to rack it off of the original yeast cake?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 02:41 AM   #2
aarong
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 13

The airlock is not a good indicator of fermentation. Take a hydrometer sample to see where you are at. If it is around 2/3 of your og in about a week you'll be fine.

Fermenting: Tripel
Keg: empty
Bottle: empty
Vissani fermentor build

Old 01-21-2013, 04:20 AM   #3
WillKing
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

The only problem with that is I didn't get to do an original gravity because my wife dropped my hydrometer a few days before I brewed and my new one wasn't in yet. Is there anything else I can do?

Old 01-21-2013, 04:22 AM   #4
CityOChampBrew
Recipes 

Liked 58 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 45

so repitch if you feel like wasting money, if you have a yeast cake at the bottom and you didn't originally pitch on to one then there has been activity

Kegged empty

Old 01-21-2013, 04:37 AM   #5
WillKing
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Would repitching be a bad idea just to make sure?

Old 01-21-2013, 04:58 AM   #6
CityOChampBrew
Recipes 

Liked 58 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 45

if you want to waste money go for it..

what did you start with yeastwise... a package of dry? a vial of wet?