Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beer Kits

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2005, 09:49 PM   #1
Nashbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Beer Kits

Hello,
I am happy to be here. I am new to this hobby and trying to learn it all. Basicaly, i want to make my own beer instead of buying the store bought beer, which in my opinion does nt taste good.

I want to buy a beer kit to start with, if that is advisable. The only two i have come across is the "Beermachine" and "Mr.Beer" nambrands. Which one do you suggest? Or are there others you can advise me about? Mr Beer is cheaper but heard bad things about their product, beermachine you don't have to bottle it.

Any advice, sites,links, magazines etc. will be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2005, 10:22 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 131 Times on 124 Posts

As always, I recommend reading Palmer's intro Next, do a search on beermachine and "mr beer" on this site. There have been several discussions. I haven't used either, but I've gotten the impression the beermachine is more useful after you move on to kettles, tuns and carboys.

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Old 11-17-2005, 10:29 PM   #3
drengel
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

i would get the most basic kit for brewing that you can find that includes a couple buckets, airlock, siphoning hoses, hydrometer, and capper. theyre usually 50 bucks and the product is much better than Mr. Beer or the like. then you should start brewing.

Old 11-17-2005, 10:37 PM   #4
Denny's Evil Concoctions
Grande Megalomaniac
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 50 Times on 42 Posts

Go here: howtobrew